Oculus Rift pre-orders are set to open on January 6

Patrick O'Rourke

January 4, 2016 12:27pm

Pre-orders for the Oculus Rift virtual reality headset are set to go live on January 6th at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT, according to an announcement from Oculus this morning.

Pricing strangely still hasn’t been revealed yet, but speculation indicates the Oculus Rift’s price tag will be above $350 USD.

Rift pre-orders will include a copy of CPC’s Eve: Valkyrie, a shooter that puts players in first-person control of a spacecraft, and Lucky’s Tale, a throwback 90’s platformer.

According to the Facebook-owned company’s recent press release, following the launch of online pre-orders, Oculus cofounder Palmer Luckey will conduct a Reddit Ask Me Anything (AMA) about his company’s upcoming VR headset at 9 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. PT on January 6th.

Last week, Oculus announced that it plans to delay the release of its Touch controllers to the second half of 2016.

Related reading: Why Samsung’s Gear VR is important to the future of virtual reality

SourceOculus
  • Richard G.

    The real question is, which VR brand do you commit to? Oculus, Samsung, Sony, etc? Also, they’re all version 1 products. Might be best to wait on the sidelines and wait this out.