MobileSyrup
News

Google’s Nearby Share now disabled by default when at work

By Bradly Shankar
Google campus

Google will switch off Nearby Share by default for work profiles.

As spotted by X (Twitter) user AssembleDebug, the change is mentioned in an updated version of the Google System Updates documentation. The default setting shift will be implemented in the Google Play services v23.41 update.

It would appear Google has made the change to improve corporate security, as Nearby Share could lead to sensitive company info being transferred to personal devices.

Image credit: Shutterstock

Via: Android Police

The top technology news, delivered to your inbox every Friday.

By submitting your information, you agree to receive electronic communications from MobileSyrup, containing news, updates and promotions regarding MobileSyrup's products. You may withdraw your consent at any time.

Antenna. Get the signal.