fbpx
News

Uber now using Microsoft’s selfie technology to verify its drivers

Uber modify pick up location

Uber is now using Microsoft’s Windows Hello facial recognition technology to keep customers safe.

Now, when Uber drivers take their account profile picture selfie, it becomes their biometric password. The app will randomly ask the driver to take a photo of themselves before they start driving and if the selfie doesn’t match, Uber will block the driver’s account until the ride-sharing company can verify the driver’s profile.

According to an Uber spokesperson, this is a proactive feature to protect Uber drivers and riders to make sure the right person is behind the wheel. Uber driver’s can’t get their non-verified friends to drive for them, for example.

The transportation network company piloted this feature in U.S. and more than 99 percent of the drivers prompted were verified.

Source: Journal de Quebec

Comments