Following the release of a new update, Google Maps now allows locations to be saved and shared with other users.
In the Google Maps app, there is now a save icon that lets users place locations into pre-set or custom-named lists, such as ‘Want to Go’ or ‘Favourites.’ Created lists can be viewed under ‘Your Places’ in the side menu. Icons for saved places now appear on the map itself so users are able to know when they’re nearby their favourite locations.
The lists you follow are with you wherever you take Google Maps and are viewable on mobile and desktop — and even offline. Next time you’re on a trip, download offline maps of the area in advance and you’ll be able to see all the places you’ve added to lists on the map itself.
Lists can then be shared via text, email, social networks and popular messaging apps. Tapping the share button will provide a link that can be sent to other users, who can then tap ‘Follow’ in Google Maps to view the shared lists in Your Places.
Google Maps was recently updated to allow for real-time information on traffic, public transportation and points of interest.
The update is available now on iOS and Android.