CRTC honours Canadian communications pioneers with Canada 150

CRTC website

To celebrate of Canada’s 150th anniversary, the CRTC is honouring the individuals that made Canada’s communications industry what it is today.

The CRTC recognized 23 individuals as part of this initiative, which included Israel “Izzy” Asper, Henri Audet, John Bassett, Alexander Graham Bell, former CRTC employee Nancy Devine, Reginald Fessenden, Barbara Frum, Harold Greenberg, Matthew Halton, Foster Hewitt, Judith Jasmin, Jonah Kelly, Jose Kusugak, René Lecavalier, John Lombardi, Marcel Masse, J-Alphonse Ouimet, Marcel Ouimet, Ted Rogers, Jean-Louis Roux, Jeanne Sauvé, Graham Spry and Réal Therrien.

In addition, the Agora at the CRTC’s national headquarters was named for Pierre Juneau, the CRTC’s first chairman. Sixteen rooms have been named for the individuals honoured in this event. The suggestions were evaluated by a panel of five senior officials.

“As part of Canada’s 150th Anniversary, the CRTC is proud to honour entrepreneurs, inventors, public figures and great communicators who, each in their own way, have transformed the Canadian communications sector,” said CRTC Chairman Jean-Pierre Blais in a statement. 

According to a statement sent to MobileSyrup, the selection of room names was made according to criteria such as posthumous recognition, ethnic diversity, geographic representation and temporality.

Source: CRTC